- Draft -

AF Hartford Academy Board of Directors

Thursday, April 23, 2020, 4:00 pm Zoom Video Conference

I. Call to Order and Attendance

The meeting was called to order at 4:02 pm by Patsy Mundy. The following board members, constituting a quorum, and Achievement First staff were in attendance:

Marshall Ruben - Yes Alberto Vasquez-Matos - No

Ja Hannah - Yes Endia DeCordova - Yes
Patsy Mundy - Yes Celina Whitmore - Yes
Alice Turner - No Bildade Augustin - Yes

David Dee - Yes Victor De La Paz, AF Network Support - Yes Deborah Prince - No Sarah Blanton, AF Network Support - Yes

Lisa Tanen-LaFontaine - Yes Ken Paul, AF Network Support - Yes

II. Open Session for Public Comment

There was no public comment

III. Board Business

RESOLVED, the AF Hartford Academy Board of Directors hereby approves the meeting minutes from January 28, 2020.

Motion by Bildade Augustin Seconded by Endia DeCordova All in favor

Patsy Mundy thanked Ja Hannah for his interest in serving as the secretary.

RESOLVED, the AF Hartford Academy Board of Directors hereby elects Ja Hannah to serve as Secretary of the Board.

Motion by David Dee Seconded by Marshall Ruben All in favor Sarah Blanton shared that the board is asked, annually, to vote on contract renewals of the principals who intend to return for the following year. All three AFHA principals intend to return for the 2020-21 school year and have signed their offer letters from Achievement First.

RESOLVED, AF Hartford Board of Directors has discussed the performance of the AF Hartford Principals intending to return for the 2020-21 school year and the compensation packages as proposed by Achievement First, and hereby approves the renewal of the following principal, with a final compensation package to be incorporated in the FY21 Budget to be reviewed and approved in May 2020:

- Raven Obas, Principal, AF Hartford Academy Elementary School
- Emily Wojtusik, Principal, AF Hartford Summit Middle School
- Ben Cruse, Principal, AF Hartford High School

Motion by Marshall Ruben Seconded by Ja Hannah All in favor

Victor De La Paz, AF's CFO, gave an overview of the federal PPP loan for which AF Hartford Academy has been approved. In addition, Patsy Mundy will need to sign the bylaws so KeyBank has them on record.

The CARES stimulus package authorized support on a first come first served basis, and AF Hartford received an award in the amount of \$2.36MM (2.5 times the average monthly payroll). 75% of that loan must be for payroll costs and the first payment would be due in six months. The remaining 25% can be spent on such things as group health care benefits, rent, utilities, and interest payments on other debt obligations. AF is confident that the loan will be forgiven but it is not guaranteed. Mr De La Paz reminded the board that this is a loan that may potentially convert to revenue in six months.

Patsy added the following language to the following resolution, "whereas, the Paycheck Protection Program may require certified bylaws; be it resolved, the AF Hartford Board hereby certifies the bylaws dated November 13, 2017 have been duly adopted and authorizes the Board Chair and/or the Board Secretary to sign such certification."

We, the undersigned, being the directors of AF Hartford Academy, a Connecticut non-profit corporation with a principal office located in New Haven, Connecticut ("the Board"), in accordance with the amended bylaws and laws of the State of Connecticut hereby adopted the following:

WHEREAS: As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board has been required to seek financial assistance through the SBA backed Payroll Protection Program. Said funds will be used to ensure the continued operation of schools under its supervision.

RESOLVED, that effective immediately, the Board has begun the process of completing the required documentation necessary to apply for the above referenced financial assistance,

Motion by Marshall Ruben Seconded by Lisa Tanen-LaFontaine All in favor

IV. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:28 pm by Patsy Mundy.

Motion by David Dee Seconded by Lisa Tanen-LaFontaine All in favor