- DRAFT -

Amistad Academy Joint High School Committee Meeting September 12, 2018, 4:30 p.m.

370 James St, New Haven

I. Call to Order & Attendance

The meeting was called to order at 4:38 p.m. by Dick Ferguson. The following board members and Achievement First Staff were in attendance:

Carolyn Greenspan, Amistad Board - Yes Jane Levin, Amistad Board - Yes (phone)

Richard Ferguson, ECCP Board - Yes Laura Saverin, ECCP Board - Yes (phone) Genevive Walker, ECCP Board - No

Chris Kunhardt, AFBA Board - Yes (phone) Jim Bennett, AFBA Board - Yes (phone) Dick Kalt - AFBA Board - Yes (phone) Morgan Barth, Amistad High School Principal - Yes Ken Paul, AF Network Support - Yes Sarah Blanton, AF Network Support - Yes Katie Rosa Moher, AF Network Support - Yes Sarah Claybaugh, AF Network Support - Yes

Public: n/a

II. Open Session For Public Comment

There was no Public Comment

III. Approve Minutes

RESOLVED, the Amistad Academy High School Committee hereby approves the meeting minutes from May 23, 2018.

Motion by Carolyn Greenspan Seconded by Dick Kalt All in favor

III. School Report

Morgan Barth, AF Amistad High School principal shared that the school year is off to a strong start. School culture is in a good place. Senior Signing Day was a great success. There were 101 graduates, 95% matriculated to college in the fall 2018. There has been a steady rise in college persistence over time.

Staff retention has been increasing over time and was 85% this year. To mitigate against staff departures, of which there were some at the start of this year, they are surveying teachers to ensure

they are well supported throughout the year. Mr. Barth shared that one of the new teachers is a 2014 graduate of Amistad High.

To ensure that AP for All curriculum is supported by some of the best teachers, Mr. Barth shared that almost all of the AP teachers have three or more years of experience.

Student enrollment has increased this year, and, as a result, they have had to add three classrooms over summer.

IV. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 5:21 p.m. by Dick Ferguson.

Motion by Carolyn Greenspan Seconded by Laura Saverin All in favor