

Achievement First (AF) Brooklyn Charter Schools Board of Trustees Meeting

Thursday, March 31, 2022, 6:00 pm Zoom Video Conference

- DRAFT MEETING MINUTES -

Board Members in Attendance: Romy Coquillette, Alison Richardson, Jonathan Atkeson, Josh Vidro, Chris Lynch, Will Robalino, Amy Arthur Samuels, Warren Young, Kevin Miquelon, Desiree Dalton, Akeem Frett, Anup Menon

Staff and Guests in Attendance: Beth Cocuzza, Neil Shah, Xanthe Jory, Stephanie Keenoy, De-Lea Deane-Allen, Ketki Harale, Payal Seth, Mary Heilmann, Isabel Tañedo, Patricia Granda-Malayer.

Patricia Granda-Malaver recorded the minutes. The meeting was called to order at 6:04 pm by Romy Coquillette, Board Chair.

1. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

2. Discussion and Updates

Ms. Coquillette informed board members that the board will be going back to in-person meetings starting May 19. Location will be decided shortly.

COO Operation & Safety Update

Ms. Xanthe Jory, Chief Operating Officer, presented an update on safety and enrollment. (referenced dashboard in board book)

Following the presentation, Ms. Jory entertained questions from the Board regarding her report.

No action was taken.



AF Summer Camp

Ms. Beth Cocuzza, Chief of Staff, presented a brief update on AF Summer Camp, AF's 3-week overnight summer camp, for 2022.

No action was taken.

3. Committee Reports

Finance Committee:

Mr. Neil Shah, Chief Financial Officer, presented the Finance Report, which included a review of the January balance sheet. He also proposed an update to the Board Designated Reserve Policy.

Following the presentation, Mr. Shah entertained questions from the Board regarding his report.

Ms. Coquillette moved the board to a vote on the following financial resolutions.

RESOLVED, that the AF Brooklyn Board of Trustees hereby approves the financial report as presented.

Motion by Jon Atkeson Seconded by Kevin Miquelon All in favor.

RESOLVED, that the Achievement First Brooklyn Board of Trustees hereby approves the updated Board Designated Reserve Policy as presented.

Motion by Jon Atkeson Seconded by Warren Young All in favor.

Facilities Committee:

Mr. Kevin Miquelon, Board Member, and Ms. Ketki Harale, Interim VP of Facilities, presented facilities report highlights on behalf of the Facilities Committee.

Ms. Coquillette invited non-Committee board members to attend and participate in Finance and Facilities Committee meetings.



Following the presentation, Ms. Harale entertained questions from the Board regarding her report.

Academic Committee:

Ms. Stephanie Keenoy, Superintendent, presented an overview of special services and presented Ms. Payal Seth, outgoing VP of Special Services and Ms. Mary Heilmann, incoming VP of Special Services.

Following the presentation, Ms. Keenoy, Ms. Seth and Ms. Heilmann entertained questions from the Board regarding the special services programming.

No action was taken.

Executive Session:

The board entered executive session at 7:39pm to hold discussions on personnel matters regarding principal candidates and principal renewal offers for 2022-23 school year. Ms. Coquillette invited Ms. Keenoy and Ms. De-Lea Deane-Allen, Chief Equity and Interim Talent Officer.

Motion by Warren Young Seconded by Desiree Dalton

The board exited the executive session at 7:59 pm.

4. Board Business

Ms. Coquillette introduced Ms.Isabel Tañedo, Senior Director of Board Relations and Governance.

Ms. Coguillette moved the board to a vote on the following resolutions.

RESOLVED, the Achievement First Brooklyn Board of Trustees hereby approves the meeting minutes from January 27, 2022.

Motion by Will Robalino Seconded by Anup Menon All in favor

RESOLVED, the Achievement First Brooklyn Board of Trustees hereby approves the special meeting minutes from March 7, 2022.



Motion by Will Robalino Seconded by Akeem Frett All in favor

RESOLVED, the AF Brooklyn Board of Trustees hereby appoints the individuals listed below as principals of the following Achievement First schools effective July 1, 2022:

- Stephanie Blieka, AF Linden Middle School
- Jadine Joseph, AF Endeavor Middle School
- Ana Cristina Samper, AF Brownsville Elementary School
- Damen Scott, AF Brooklyn High School

Motion by Jonathan Atkeson Seconded by Will Robalino All in favor

RESOLVED, the AF Brooklyn Board of Trustees hereby approves the renewal of the following principals, with a final compensation package to be incorporated in the FY23 Budget to be reviewed and approved in May 2022:

- Noah Hellman, AF Apollo Elementary School
- Jesse Uggla, AF Apollo Middle School
- Jordan Hardy, AF Aspire Elementary School
- Hope Fox, AF Aspire Middle School
- Allison Laird, AF Brownsville Middle School
- Courtney Saretzky, AF Bushwick Elementary School
- Sam Jones, AF Bushwick Middle School
- Sade Johnson, AF Crown Heights Elementary School
- Victoria Pierre, AF Crown Heights Middle School
- Martin Palamore, AF East Brooklyn High School
- Merlyn Senter, AF East New York Elementary School
- Colleen Young, AF Endeavor Elementary School
- Jess Eddy, AF Legacy Elementary School
- Alicia Harper, AF North Brooklyn Prep Elementary School
- Nana Effah, AF Ujima High School
- Jason Coalter. AF University Prep High School
- Tamla Frater, AF Voyager Middle School

Motion by Jonathan Atkeson Seconded by Akeem Frett All in favor



Ms. Coquillette acknowledged the resignation of Justin Cohen, Board Member and thanked him for his years of service. As a result, the number of members of the Board of Trustees must be set at seventeen, down from eighteen.

RESOLVED, the AF Brooklyn Board of Trustees does, pursuant to the bylaws of AF Brooklyn, effective March 31, 2022, set the number of members of the Board of Trustees at seventeen.

Motion by Alison Richardson Seconded by Warren Young All in favor

5. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:09 pm by Romy Coquillette

Motion by Romy

Seconded by Will Robalino

All in favor